A whole new country so a whole new story! - Reisverslag uit New Zealand, Nieuw Zeeland van Lonneke Rauch - WaarBenJij.nu A whole new country so a whole new story! - Reisverslag uit New Zealand, Nieuw Zeeland van Lonneke Rauch - WaarBenJij.nu

A whole new country so a whole new story!

Door: Lonneke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lonneke

15 Februari 2017 | Nieuw Zeeland, New Zealand

Another long (probably too long) story about what I have done. But what an amazing journey in New Zealand! A lot of new memories and friend for life!!! New Zealand, don't know how I could leave you, but I will be back!

* Auckland, make a plan

On the 11th of January I flew to New Zealand from Perth. I expected that it would be a simple flight, with no food and entertainment (that was what the bookings agency told me). But none of that was true. They gave me food and I could watch movies. I met another girl on the flight who was going to Auckland as well! So a good beginning of my trip!

At the airport they picked me out of the queue. They wanted to check if I was carrying any explosives. Of course I look like a person who would carry them, haha! On the stopover I helped as well with a training of drug dogs. Good experience, from explosives to drugs. Unfortunately it wasn't for the television program 'border security'.

When I arrived in Auckland I went to my hostel and did some shopping and late at night Charlotte arrived!!!! Charlotte is a girl from Belgium. I met her during surf camp in Australia and saw her again in Melbourne (for a couple of hours) and then we decided to travel together in New Zealand for five weeks! So she is finally here and our journey can start!

The next day we slept in and then decided to make a plan for the next couple of weeks. First we wanted to hire a car and travel on our own, but after doing some research we found out it was so expensive, so we decided to change our plans and we booked the 'Stay bus'. This is and hop-on hop-off bus that goes through the whole of New Zealand. The only thing was that we had to wait for a couple of days before it would leave. If you have to wait for a couple of nights, you can explore the city. So we started that night with a pub crawl! Good way to start and at the same time you meet immediately a lot of people. Also people you met before in Australia. The weird thing was that Charlotte met a guy in Tasmania and I met him in Sydney and now we met all again in Auckland, what a small world.

On the 13th we had to go to another hostel, but had to wait for a couple of hours before we could check in. So we decided to eat something in the rain. What else can you do ;) This was a relaxing day, because after checking in we watched movies! We created our own cinema, both mattresses on the ground, blankets and pillows. You chill!

The next day Charlotte and I started very well. We put on our sport clothes and walked to a place to do some exercises and did nothing over there. It was just too warm to do anything and we couldn't find any shade. But the intention was good!

Later on that day I drank a beer with Tessa. That's a girl I know from the Netherlands, from school and from soccer. I saw that she was coming to Auckland, so we decided to drink something. Enjoy your trip Tessa, maybe see you again somewhere else!


* Paihia, Start of the Journey with Stray

And then... Gee! It's finally the 16th and that means start of the road trip with Stray!!! I'm so excited! It was at first a challenge to get everything in my backpack again, but I managed it. Today we were driving to Paihia. We had a stop in Whangarei and did some tree hugging with a kauri tree. If you don't know what kind of tree it is, I will explain. Do you know the movie Avatar? In the end they are around a big tree, well that tree is based on the kauri tree.

After arriving in Paihai, Charlotte and I took the ferry to Russell, walked to the museum (was a little bit disappointed) and then walked to the top of the flagstaff hill. It was a beautiful walk with a beautiful view! It was a long walk, probably because we didn't know how to walk back, but worth it and of course a good exercise.

On the 17th we had a day trip to the most Northern part of New Zealand, Cape Reinga. But before we were there we had a stop at 90 miles beach. So weird that the beach over here is a highway where you can drive 100 km/h.

A little drive from the beach there were big, massive sand dunes. Over there you could do sandboarding. I already did it near Sydney, so this time I decided to enjoy the view. After this we went to the lighthouse in Cape Rainga. This is a spiritual point for the Maori people. Some of them believe that your soul comes here when you die, so we were not allowed to eat on this place, because that would distract the souls.

The next day we had to stand up early, because we wanted to do a walk to the Haruru falls (before the bus would pick us up). Someone told us to take a certain route, one that wouldn't go along the highway. Of course we tried to listen, but we took the wrong way. So we walked along the highway without any footpath... Luckily we found the waterfall, but it was way smaller than I expected it to be. We took the right path back, through a stunning bush! So, however the waterfalls were disappointing, the four hour walk was really beautiful! After the walk we drove back to Auckland, to stay there for one night.


* Hahei, bus broke down

After one night in Auckland, we drove with new energy to Hahei! Already looking forward to the hot water beach! But after an hour’s drive our bus broke down in the middle of nowhere. The guide told us that we had to wait for the another bus driver, because he had to bring this bus back. While we were waiting we decided to try to find a waterfall, had to be there somewhere. In my thongs (aussie for flip flops) I walked through a bush without any path, but we did find the waterfall - well if you really could say that this was a waterfall, no. But it was a nice view on top of an abyss. After two hours waiting the other bus driver picked us up and brought us to the place in Hahei. Over there I did a walk on the beautiful beach and to a viewing point.

In the evening our bus driver had the idea to do a BBQ so he had done the shopping. Unfortunately, he had to go back to Auckland for a new bus and we had all the food he bought. No clue how to prepare some of the stuff... But everything worked out at the end and it was a great meal.

In the evening we wanted some more beer, but all the shops were already closed. Solution, find the owner of the store to get some beer. I found him driving around in a golf car and I could join him to the store! Could you imagine, driving around in a city in a golf car. Actually it was quite fun and we had our beer!

The next day, the 19th, it was raining a lot so we couldn't/wouldn't walk around. So we decided to watch a movie with a group. Later on, when the rain was gone, we went to the hot water beach! Don't ask me how we finally got there, because we had to make a lot of phone calls with the Stray office. Thanks for not helping. But we got there! And it is so strange. You dig a hole and the water that comes in the holes is really hot. Sometime you can barely sit in it, so then the water from the ocean is nice and refreshing. In the evening we ended the day with a nice drink with the whole group!


* Raglan, Glowworms and surfing

Next morning was an early wake up, because we wanted to see the sunrise on the viewing point where I was two days ago. So walked for half an hour and saw a nice sunrise! Just in time back for the bus, but there was the next problem. We got a new bus, but it was smaller, so not everyone could come. Thanks to the people who decided to stay behind! We could go to the next point, Raglan. In Raglan I did some surfing. I have to say that it is very easy to surf over here and I didn't know that this lesson was for beginners. I could practise my basics and also helped other people. Only the last minute I hurt myself when I felt of my surfboard. At that point I was really worried, but luckily I was okay! Only a bump and bruise on my leg.

The evening was relaxed, watching the sunset at inspiration point, playing card games and spotting glowworms at the path to the accommodation where we were staying. Did you know that glowworms are glowing because of the chemical reaction when they poo. No? Now you know!

On the 21st I went into glowworm caves! So amazing! You go under the ground where it's dark, cold and where there is water. We were walking and swimming around in the caves and saw beautiful rock formations. At two points we were floating on tubes and watched the ceiling and saw a lot of glowworms! Wow, it looks like you're watching at a lot of stars! And the strings they make are beautiful as well. Everything together was just stunning. Well everything - at one point I was sitting next to a big spider (next to my face) and I didn't see it, but apparently someone else did. So that was fun, screaming in a cave. But beside the spider, it was a good experience!

After the caves we drove to Rotorua (I can't pronounce this place) and we finished this day in a bar.


* Rotorua, from hangover to rotten eggs smell

The next day I didn't do much. I was tired and maybe I drank too much last night. That's a possibility. So I watched some movies and was taking it slow.

After this day Charlotte and I went to Wai-o-tapo (thermal wonderland). You see a lot of different lakes. They are different in size, color and smell. Yes, it smells like rotten eggs. Now clue how rotten eggs smell, but it is the only description I can give. These thermal spots are here because of the magma under the ground. We also saw a geyser going off. They put washing powder in the hole and after a while the geyser will erupt. They found out about the washing powder because of a prisoner who did this years and years ago.

After walking around in the park and seeing the geyser, we went to a hot spring. So strange, the water is at one side cold and at the other side very hot, nice relax! You only have to be careful, don't put your head under the water because there is a chance that worms will go to your brain and eat it. Yes, this is really true!

We've been almost the whole day in the park (long drive away from our hostel), but there was also a thermal park next to our hostel. This one we also visited.


* Te Kaha, Love shack

On the 24th of January we started our trip to the most Eastern point of New Zealand. We had a small group and the bus was called 'the love shack'. Because the group was so small it was very easy to get to know everyone. Going east is special, because Stray is the only tour-operator who goes there (another option is of course going with your own car). So there are not a lot of tourists over there.

It was a long drive to our accommodation for the night, but the views were amazing. Or how they say it in Maori language 'choice' (you probably don't write it like that, but you pronounce it like that).

Today we would stay at a place where a Maori family is living. To greet them you have to shake the hand, say 'Kia Ora' and tip the nose twice to each other. After this, the family was welcoming us by doing a song and a dance. Was special to experience this!

This is really the most beautiful place in the world. The view, the people, the food, the place, everything! They even had a hot tub at their own beach! So in the evening we were sitting in the hot tub with the group, watching the stars. Really, could be worse!

I could stay longer here, but the next day we had to go to the next place. Before we left we had to sing a song to thank the family. Someone out of the group made a song (because we had to make our own song) and we sang it together. Was a little bit awkward, but it was part of the tradition.

It felt really strange to leave this place. I felt part of the family and felt welcome! I think this is the down part of traveling. Of course I want to see a lot of places, but then you also have to say goodbye to stunning places and beautiful people. So this is not the first time that I have had to say goodbye to something I like and it won’t be the last time.


* Tatapouri, First sunrise OF THE WORLD

On our way to the next accommodation in Tatapouri we stopped at the most Eastern lighthouse (East cape lighthouse). They told me that you have to walk 800 steps to get there. I didn't count them, but it took longer than I expected to get there. But like every walk I did so far, every time the view is worth it!

After the next stop at Tolaga bay wharf we arrived at the place where we were going to stay tonight. It's a big house next to the beach. So again a good place to be! First we ate pizza at a higher point of the city to see the lights of the city when it was getting darker and after that we went to a meeting place at the beach. Local people were drinking together there and they offered me a homemade drink as well. I have to say that I really tried to drink it like they did it, but it was too strong. So they put coke in it. Don't think it was a lot of coke. In a glass: 5ml of alcohol and 1ml of coke. But it was nice of them to share.

The night was still young and someone taught us to dance the salsa and someone else taught us to dance disco. So be prepared when you see me dancing the next time J

On 26 January I woke up after a short night’s sleep to see the first sunrise OF THE WORLD. I already saw a couple of sunrises, but this one was special because it is the first one. Been there, done that!

After the sunrise and one more hour of sleep I did stingray feeding. They were wild stingrays! Yes that is the animal that killed Steve Irwin so I was a bit nervous. But when I was in the water with a group I was more scared of the kingfishes than the stingrays. Guides told us how to pet and feed the stingrays, so we knew what to do, but you had to be careful. Every time you put your hand in the water, there will come a kingfish to try to get your hand. Yes they have teeth. But luckily they didn't bite me!

After this adventure in the Love Shack, we had to go back to Rotorua so we could start our way to the south.


* Lake Aniwhenua, way of living of the Maori

We went to Lake Aniwhenua and this is where we learned more about the Maori. We started at sacred Maori rock carvings and heard stories about the way of living of the Maori people. After this they gave us a Marae experience. We went to a community centre of Maori people to see a ceremony. When you arrive there you first have to do the Maori greeting and then the woman has to walk in the front. After someone gives you the signal to walk. If you are at the seats the guys have to sit in the front. In case of an attack they can protect the woman. A man was telling a whole story in Maori language, so don't tell me what they told us, but it was quite impressive to experience something like this!

After this we went to the place where we would sleep, in the middle of nowhere. Over there they taught me how to wave my own bracelet and I learned how to fight and how to do a part of the hakka.

The dinner was special as well. We had a hangi dinner. That means that they cook under the ground. The food was really delicious and you don't eat off plates, but out of waved buckets and you were allowed to eat with your hands. And of course I did! They told us after dinner what they did with the food. They put it in boxes and bring it the next day to a school where children don't have food all the time. Unfortunately it's school holiday, so we couldn't bring it. Now they going to bring it to the older people in the town.

The night ended at a campfire.


* Whakahoro, horse riding

On our way to the next stop in the middle of nowhere we stopped first at a hot spring with a waterfall. Just to wake up really, not to wash ourselves. Therefore it is disgusting. The smell is not nice and the water is not fresh. After a swim the white parts on your bikini are not white anymore.

The next stop was in Taupo. I didn't stay there for a long time. Some people hop off over here to stay longer, but I chose to go further. However, here in Taupo you have the largest lake of New Zealand. It is the size of Singapore. So I can tell that I saw it.

The next day I couldn't sleep in because I went horse riding. I never rode a horse back home, so the four hours over here was good exercise. It was nice to sit on a horse and enjoying the view! We were going up a mountain so the view was getting better and better. You also could see a lot of sheep, cows and goats. The only disadvantage about it is that my horse was scared of a sheep, so fun to see me try to get my horse under control, but I did it!

Later that day I decided to walk with a couple of people to a waterfall. The owners of the property wouldn't let us go, because they were scared we wouldn't be back in time (before it got dark). But we were convincing enough, so they let us go. It was a good walk and it was the best waterfall I have seen far! On our way back there was a car driving past us and offered us a ride. It was nice to sit in the back of a car on our way back, because now we saw how far we walked.


* Tongariro National Park, most epic walk ever!!!

Today it's the 30th of January and I'm going to do the Tangario crossing! That's a walk of 19.4 km up and down a mountain. Or actually it's an active volcano that erupted two years ago. When I started it was quite easy, but at the moment that the stairs start it gets harder. They called them the devil's stairs. Before you start the stairs there's a sign and they ask you if you really want to do it. And I started the long walk up the hill. A couple of times I thought that I was at the top, but when I looked to the other way I saw more stairs. I've never been so happy being on the top of a mountain. I was happy because I finished the stairs (I thought so), but also I had a stunning view. If you see my pictures you know what I mean!

Then you expect that the walk down will be easier, but nothing is further from the truth. The walk down is even more difficult. Loose sand where I fell three times and a long path down the rest of the way. At one moment you have to go up a mountain again. At that moment you have to switch a button in your head and just go!

I finished this together with Kate in six hours and twenty minutes! I'm so proud of us that we did this! Just the whole idea that we decided to walk for fun for that amount of hours and that distance.

Back at the hostel I was of course tired and cooked very easy and went to bed early and satisfied!


* Wellington, day of a long drive

After the day of the walk we had a long drive to Wellington. We had a couple of stops, for example at a real Dutch molen. With all of the Dutchies we made a group picture. Maybe you think that there were not a lot of people from the Netherlands, but then you're wrong. Here in New Zealand you meet a lot of Dutch people.

In Wellington I didn’t do a lot. I only went to the museum and in the evening I saw Wellington from a higher point when we took a cable car up to the mountain.


* Abel Tasman, SKYDIVE!!!

On the first of February we had to wake up very early to take the ferry to the South Island. And we drove to Abel Tasman. Abel Tasman is the place where I planned to face my fear.

The next morning I had to wake up very early for doing a skydive! I slept suprisingly good and was less nervous than expected. Of course I could feel the tension, but I think that's normal when you're going to jump out of an airplane.

I was ready to jump, signed that the company wouldn't be responsible for any injuries or for my death. Good beginning. I was together with two other girls I know from the Stray bus in the airplane, Malene and Anneke. We were at 5000ft and then they told us that we had to go down again. The weather was changing. At that moment I was a little bit sad. I was finally ready to jump. Now I had to go through all of this tomorrow again. I also wanted to tell everything to the people back home, but I wanted to wait till after the jump. Now I had to wait longer.

The rest of the day it was raining. I planned to do a walk, but after twenty minutes in the rain I decided to walk back. So I did some sleeping and reading. Sometimes that is also nice and necessary. In the evening there was an open microphone at a the bar so together with some friends we drank something. A couple of small animals decided to drink something as well, my blood. Stupid sandflies!

And then... the next day... trying to build up the tension, but I think you already know what's going to happen... Skydiving!

We were in the air at 16,500 ft. I searched on the internet and that is five kilometers high. And yes that is high when you look down. I wasn't that nervous, but then they opened the door and first Anneke and then Malene jumped and I saw that they were going very fast. I was the last one who had to jump. After seeing the other ones jumping I said to my instructor “Okay, I'm not going to jump”. He said “Oh, yes you are. Don't look down, here we go”. And we fell out of the airplane!!! The first two seconds my body didn't liked it, but after that it was so amazing! You don't have the feeling you're falling but it's like you're flying! The freefall was for 75 seconds, but it was over before you knew it. And then the parachute opens and it's so quiet in the air and the view is amazing! If you asked me if I would do it again I would say YES! This is the most amazing thing I've ever done!


* Westport, rain and rain...

After the adrenaline was out of my body I was so tired. So the ride to the next place I slept the whole way and in the evening I only played a game of yahtzee.

The next day we started with a bootcamp in the morning, before we were going to the next place. We stopped at a pancake factory. Not really like the real Dutch pancakes, but they were nice! You could also walk to the Pancake mountains, but it was raining too hard that I decided not to do it. There were more stops where we could do a walk, but it was really raining too much. I know I won't melt from rain, but I didn't want to be wet the whole way in the bus.

At one point it was dry and our bus driver decided to do a name game. Just like you do in primary school. It was called the 'name train' and it was real fun! I don't know if I know all of the names right now, but it was fun. After this game we had to stand in a circle and try to sit on each other’s laps! Haha, I do this with my own students back home, but to experience it yourself is also a lot of fun!


* Franz Josef, Helihike

After a day of rest was it the 5th of February and I booked the Helihike. The chance that it would really happen was not that big, because it depends on the weather. This year they were only able to do this seven times and I was lucky! The weather was good, so we good go!

First you have to walk through a part of rainforest to get to the helicopter. We were flying to the Franz Josef glacier. You get out of the helicopter and have to put on special shoes. Otherwise you would slip on the ice. It's so crazy to walk on a glacier. The ice is moving all the time and we walked on a 'safe' part. The guide told us that if we heard something cracking we had to look up to the mountain. There the ice is moving seven meters a day so sometimes you see a massive piece of ice falling down. Cool to see!

After the walk I went with some other people in hot pools. So strange to have a lot of different temperatures in one day. From ice to hot pools! Amazing!

This was a really good day, because after this Charlotte and I ate at a Indian restaurant and it was so delicious!!! Butter chicken and cheese cake as dessert. When I'm writing this I'm getting hungry again.

In the evening we had a party with the whole group. The bus drivers wanted to have a theme, but didn't want to make it too expensive, so the theme was rubbish bag party! I made a dress and some hair clips and some small things out of rubbish bags. It was a good party I wouldn't forget! It was nice that there were a lot of people I met during my journey in New Zealand. Good to see them before we going our own way again.


* Wanaka, passenger in Charlotte's flight

The next day it was Waitangi day. The only thing you noticed about this is that you have to pay extra for everything, so also for your food.

Again there was a lot of rain, so we had a long drive and the bus driver told us that normally it would a scenic drive. We could only see rain and waterfalls from the mountains next to the road, grown because of the rain. We stopped at a waterfall where you could see an illusion. If you look at the waterfall without blinking and then look at the rock you would think that the rock is moving. Unfortunately, I can't show you this on a video or something. So if you want to see this, go there!

In Wanaka I went to the cinema. This cinema was really comfortable with seats like home. I watched the movie called 'Pork Pie'. It was really funny and it was nice that the movie is filmed in New Zealand , so I recognized some places from the movie. If you have time, watch this movie! I recommend this movie!

The following morning, 7th of February, Charlotte was going to fly her own airplane and I was allowed to be the passenger. She flew a small airplane on her own. Someone was sitting next to her to give her instruction, but it was quite impressive to see her doing this. The wind was a little bit annoying, because of the wind the plane was moving a lot up and down. Nice if you get motion sick quick... But Charlotte you are a good pilot!


* Queenstown, naked run and dancing on the street

After the flight we drove to Queenstown. At the 45th parallel south we did a naked run with a couple of people from the bus. Just because it is possible to past this point in this way. It was along the highway, so I have to say that I'm curious how many people saw us.

When we arrived in Queenstown we bought with a whole group pizza and ate this at the lake while we were watching the sunset. This was the last night with a lot of the people I met during the trip with Stray so we planned to evening together. We went to a couple of bars and enjoyed our night together. At one point we walked outside and there was a street performance. PapaG (bus driver) asked me to dance to the music. First I said no, because I can't dance like him, but then I changed my mind. It was so nice to dance on the street and luckily he was a good leader, so I could follow him. A lot of people were watching us and after the dance we got compliments! So awesome!

The next day I could finally sleep in! Long time ago that this was possible. Together with Malene we went on waterbikes and after this went up to the top of the mountain 'Ben Lomond'. We had a beautiful view of Queenstown, so that was a good reason for an icecream ;)

As dinner I bought a Jergburger. You have to stand in a cue for half an hour and then have to wait for 20 more minutes. People told me this would be the best burger IN THE WORLD and it was! The burger was really worth waiting for.

In the evening I did with some people a pub crawl. We went to a couple of bars and the most special one was the icebar! Everything is made out of ice, even the glasses. It was minus 15 degrees. I was happy that the bar had coats and gloves, because I wasn't dressed for this temperature.


* Gunn's Camp, Middle of nowhere

On the 9th of February we started the journey on the South loop. We had a couple of beautiful views and stops. For example, we stopped at mirror lake. We stopped earlier in our trip at mirror lakes as well, but this was the first time the weather let us experience the view in the water. Very nice to see the mountains reflecting in the water. The next stop was epic! We drove through a tunnel and then, you could hear the song of the lion king playing through the bus and we drove out of the tunnel. Wow, I can't describe the view, but it was stunning! With the music in the background it was a 'goosebumps moment'!

Then we arrived at Gunn's Camp. It's a place in the middle of nowhere and you have no reception and a lot of sandflies. It's a little bit back to basics, because you had to heat your cabin with a fire and the showers were heated by a fire as well. You really need the heat of the fire. Believe it or not, but over here it's cold as well! At 10pm they shut down the electricity. Of course I decided to take a shower 10 minutes before the electricity was going off, but I managed to be finished in time! Never been that fast (but you couldn't stand that long under the shower, because it was too hot!).

So later the night I was going to sleep in a dark place with the sound of water going down the river, sandflies me and the smell of bug spray. Feeling like a real backpacker!


* Stewart Island, search for Kiwis...

The next morning we started our trip to the most southern part of New Zealand, Stewart Island. I have to tell you that I've been on boats with less movements. I think I paid to get in a roller coaster, that was how it felt like the whole time. Good if you like that feeling.

On the island we went with a group to spot some penguins. We saw three in one hour, but at least it was a good view. Later that night I walked together with some other people to a rugby field to find kiwis! They told us that you could spot them over there if you were really quiet. Didn't saw them.

Next day I woke up very early to see the sunrise and the penguins again. So I saw the three penguins leaving their spot again.

Full of good spirits I went that day together with Charlotte and Stacey to Ulva island to see kiwis! This is the only place IN THE WORLD where kiwis are awake during the day. Again we didn't find them, but we found a lot of other very cute animals (seals and birds).

At one moment we were sitting on a rock for only two minutes. We didn't notice that the tide was getting high. So it was a funny moment to get back to the shore. Only Charlotte's shoes were waterproof, so she was the first one in safety ;)

When we were back at the island we had a couple more hours before we had to go back to the mainland. So what did we do, hire an electric bike! I felt like a child, going up and down the hills without any effort. We saw also a very special place: Lonnekers lake!!! Yes, you read it good, my name!!! Who expected that they would use my name here if they are not able to pronounce it! It made my day!


* Mt Cook

On the 12th we drove to Mt Cook. A lot of people told me that it would be beautiful and that the walk over there is really worth it. Well I have no clue, didn't see it, haven't done it. We couldn't even see the mountains because of the rain. So what did we do, exactly, Yahtzee while we were enjoying our cup of tea.

The next day was the drive to Christchurch, the weather wasn't improved.


* Christchurch, earthquake city

Then it was already the last stop of my journey in New Zealand. It was going so quick, too quick. But it's not the end, first enjoying Christchurch.

That night we (Anoek, Stacey, Charlotte and I) went out for dinner, because it was our last night together. Some of them were leaving tomorrow. After dinner we went to the movies, no less than the movie 'Fifty Shades Darker'. Better movie than the first one and a good end of the evening as well. Anoek and I walked back. It was only half an hour’s walk. Back home I would complain about it, but I start to get used to the distances. Maybe when I'm back home I would even walk to the supermarket. That's not that far away (I said maybe).

The next morning (14th) I walked into the city with Anoek. It is strange to see that an earthquake from 2011 still had that much influence. There are still a lot of buildings that are damaged and they don't know what to do with it. At the same time there was a bush fire nearby, so the view was a bit sad. The one natural disaster after the other. The next day the bush fire was even worse. They evacuated the people from the mountain. But beside the bushfire I had a nice day. Today I walked again with Anoek around the city and drank a coffee. When I walked back to my hostel someone else (Sian) wanted to walk to the city. So I turned around and walked the twenty minutes back again, drunk a (couple of) beer(s) and played in the playground.


* Akaroa, not my day... but swam with dolphins!

And then. The last day in the center of Christchurch. I decided to swim with dolphins in Akaroa. So I woke up very early for the pick-up. Unfortunately, the reception gave me the wrong information, so I was standing at a wrong point. Called the company of the bus and after a talk the manager was so nice to pick me up and to bring me to the next pick-up point. We drove to Akaroa and we were a little bit delayed and he would drop me off at the dolphin swim, but he didn't do it. I was half an hour late, but the dolphin swim company was so nice to wait for me. So almost everything went wrong, also on the way back but I will stop complaining, because I was going to swim with dolphins!

The swim with dolphins was amazing! We went on a boat and saw a lot of dolphins. This kind of dolphins where the smallest one OF THE WORLD and you could only find them here. We went in the water and I think we swam with them. They were all around us, but I couldn't really see them. It was quite fun to be in the water. Dolphins are very curious animals, so if you want them to come to you, you have to sing. That makes you more interesting for them. The time on the water was relaxing, fun and with a beautiful view. Good end!


CONCLUSION

I had an epic time in New Zealand and will never forget it. I will come back for sure! I saw and did a lot, but I know there is more to see and to do and things I want to see and do again. I met a lot of people and they made my trip more special, thanks to you all! Also thanks to all of the bus drivers from Stray: Lolly, Muesli, Bobby, Lantern, PapaG, Motor, Lego!

  • 04 Maart 2017 - 12:04

    Mama:

    Hey Lon, wat een verhalen en wat maak je veel mee! Je bent duidelijk volop aan het genieten! Fijn weer zo'n waanzinnig verhaal (zeg maar rustig 'boekwerk'

  • 17 Maart 2017 - 21:44

    Cor Rietbergen:

    Hallo Lonneke, met heel veel plezier het boeiende verhaal van jou gelezen.
    Geweldige ervaring moet dit alles voor je zijn, met o.a. ´jump out of the airplane”, geyser ervaring, horse riding, walk on a glacier, bergwandelingen, gezellige bieravonden en nog heel veel meer. Geniet ervan, dit is een reis waar je je hele leven op terug kan zien. Groeten van Antoinette en Cor

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, New Zealand

Lonneke

Actief sinds 27 Okt. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 515
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9933

Voorgaande reizen:

27 Oktober 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: